Michael Che “Michael Che Matters”

At first, I didn’t want to watch this comedy special. Wanna know why?Because I was still salty over the fact that Michael Che replaced Seth Meyers on Saturday Night Live as the Weekend Update anchor. Yeah, I know that Seth went on to be the host of Late Night with Seth Meyers, but I didn’t care, I just missed him. But I had heard lots of other comedians praising Michael Che over social media about this comedy special so I thought that I would check it out, and boy am I glad I did.

giphy1

In this special, Che talks about the recent controversy with the Black Lives Matter movement, but with a hilarious spin. Yes, he understands that it’s a serious topic but he sets out to explain to people why Black Lives Matters is NOT the same as All Lives Matter, which is a movement that was created to counteract the idea of Black Lives Matter. He explains it as such; if your wife or husband comes up to you and says “baby, do you love me” and you reply by saying “honey, I love everyone”, that’s what All Lives Matter is like. Or if you were talking about 9/11 and said “all buildings matter”, no they don’t, because we aren’t talking about all buildings, we are talking about the Twin Towers. I really enjoy this segment of the show because it shows that he is definitely┬ásocially aware and he wants his audience to understand the idea of Black Lives Matter.

giphy2

On a lighter note, he also makes a few quick comments in the beginning about interactions with homeless people… fun right?! He tells the audience about a recent interaction he had with a homeless man in which he accidentally gave the man a twenty dollar┬ábill, unaware that that was the only bill he had in his pocket. He couldn’t not give it to the man because the homeless man already saw Che taking it out of his pocket.

Overall, I think that Michael Che puts on an amazing show. He’s witty, he’s honest, and just overall wonderful. I really enjoyed his comedy show and look forward to seeing what else he has in store for us.

Leave a Reply

