Anjelah Johnson “Not Fancy”

Before I decided to start reviewing Netflix comedy specials, I had never heard of Anjelah Johnson… or so I thought.For those of you who never spent any time on the internet in the early 2000’s, you have probably never come across a woman named Bon Qui Qui. For those of you who have spent that time on the internet, you know exactly who I’m talking about.

tenor

Anyway back to the show. Despite her being one of my favorite people on MadTV, she is definitely not one of my favorite comics. When I started watching this show I automatically didn’t like this. Before I continue I just want to reiterate that these are just my opinions. Some people may love her, some people may hate her. So don’t discount this as a bad comedy show but personally, I am not a fan.

One big problem I have with this show is that she just sounds fake the whole time. It sounds like she’s doing a fake accent the entire time. And maybe thats the way she really speaks, I have no idea. But if that is her real accent and the real way she talks, I would not want to be around her very often. I feel like I may be being very harsh right now but this is truly how I feel about this comedy show.

Long story short, it wasn’t for me. I didn’t really like or understand her comedy style at all. I felt like she was just complaining about a bunch of things. She really didn’t bring anything new to the table. Other people might enjoy this comedy style, but I didnt.

Leave a Reply

