Mike Birbiglia “Thank God For Jokes”

When I realized that Mike was a stand-up comedian, I instantly wanted to watch his comedy special. The first time I ever saw Mike in anything, it was in “The Fault In Our Stars” movie, which is based on the book of the same name by John Green. He played the role of the support group leader that was over cheerful to a group of kids that were dying of fatal diseases. So that was my first impression of Mike. Fast forward a few years and I was scrolling through the Netflix comedy specials and I see his name and I thought to myself, “Huh, this name sounds so familiar.” So I did some sleuthing and found out that it was, in fact, the same guy that was in “The Fault In Our Stars.”

In this special, Mike discusses his everyday life including things like why it’s terrible to be a person that is late to everything (trust me, those people are the worst), yoga with his wife (who is a late person who never actually showed up to yoga), and how his doctor doesn’t think that Mike looks like a comedian.

60ec7ea4-c864-42e8-a6ed-f841a5333686

Something that threw me off about Mike was that his voice is so calming at some points. Usually, comedians have this upbeat voice that makes you turn down your volume on your laptop or tv or phone or whatever the heck you’re watching them on. With Mike, I needed to turn the volume up, which was a first for me. But I think there is something to that calming voice. It shows that he doesn’t really need to be out there or over the top to make his jokes funny.

Overall I thought that this comedy show was great. Mike does an amazing job of capturing the audience and making them feel comfortable. I find that sometimes comedians can make their audiences feel uncomfortable at times *coughs* Amy Schumer *coughs*, but Mike does an amazing job of making them comfortable, which is something that I admire in a comedian.

Leave a Reply

